NEW JERSEY SCHOOLS DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 2025 ORGANIZATONAL BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING 32 EAST FRONT STREET, TRENTON, NEW JERSEY BOARD ROOM WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 8, 2025

The Annual Organizational meeting of the Board of Directors of the New Jersey Schools Development Authority (SDA or the Authority) was held on Wednesday, January 8, 2025 at 9:00 a.m. Participating were:

Robert Nixon, Public Member, Chairman
Juan Burgos (EDA)
Kevin Luckie (DCA)
David Moore (Treasury)
Bernard Piaia (DOE)
Joseph DeCotiis, Public Member
Daniel Gumble, Public Member
Lester Lewis-Powder, Public Member
Mario Vargas, Public Member
Nicole Vecchione, Public Member

being a quorum of the Members. Mr. DeCotiis, Mr. Gumble, Mr. Lewis-Powder, Mr. Moore, Mr. Piaia, Mr. Vargas, and Ms. Vecchione participated by teleconference.

At the Chairman's request, Manuel Da Silva, chief executive officer; Donald Guarriello, vice president & chief financial officer; Janice Venables, vice president & assistant secretary; Ramy Kamel, vice president; and Albert Barnes, chief counsel of the SDA, participated in the meeting. Alexis Franklin of the Governor's Authorities Unit also participated in the meeting (by teleconference).

The Chairman of the Board, Mr. Nixon, called the meeting to order. He wished everyone a happy new year and thanked the Board Members and staff for their hard work and dedication to the mission of the SDA throughout the year.

Next, Mr. Nixon welcomed the Members, SDA staff and the public to the SDA's 2025 Annual Organizational meeting.

Pledge of Allegiance

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Nixon, who then led the standing assembled Members in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance. He then requested that Ms. Venables read the requisite notice of public meeting. Ms. Venables announced that the meeting notice had been sent to the *Trenton Times* and *Star-Ledger* at least 48 hours prior to the meeting, and was duly posted on the Secretary of State's bulletin board at 225 West State Street in Trenton, New Jersey and on the SDA Website. Ms. Venables then conducted a roll call and indicated that a quorum of the Members of the Board was present.

Mr. Nixon welcomed and congratulated Mr. Joseph DeCotiis on his nomination and approval by the Senate to become an SDA Board Member.

Mr. Nixon then presented the matters on the agenda for Board consideration. Referencing the Organizational Meeting materials that staff provided to the Board in advance of the meeting, Mr. Nixon announced that the first matter requiring Board approval is the election of Authority Officers for 2025. He then identified the individuals put forward for Board consideration and the positions in which they would serve: Vice Chairperson—Mario Vargas; Treasurer—Elizabeth Muoio, State Treasurer; Secretary—Nicole Vecchione; Chief Executive Officer—Manuel Da Silva; Assistant Treasurer—Donald Guarriello; and Assistant Secretary—Janice Venables and Additional Assistant Secretary—Albert Barnes. Mr. Nixon thanked everyone for serving on the Board.

Mr. Nixon requested a motion to elect as the officers of the Authority those individuals whose names he had just announced. Upon a motion by Mr. Burgos and seconded by Mr. Luckie, the Board approved the slate of SDA Officers proposed for 2025 with its unanimous vote in favor of **Resolution** 3a.

Mr. Nixon then announced those Board Members that he is appointing to serve as Committee Chairs and Members for 2025. The individuals appointed by the Chairman to serve as Chairs and

Members of the Authority's Audit, Real Estate and School Review Committees respectively are as follows:

Audit Committee

- 1. Robert Nixon, Chairperson (Public Member)
- 2. State Treasurer (or designee, as permitted by Section 2.7 of the By-Laws) designee, David Moore
- 3. John Capo (Public Member)
- 4. Mario Vargas (Public Member)

Real Estate Committee

- 1. Mario Vargas, Chairperson (Public Member)
- 2. Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Community Affairs (or designee, as permitted by Section 2.7 of the By-Laws) designee, Kevin Luckie
- 3. Lester Lewis-Powder (Public Member)
- 4. Joseph DeCotiis, (Public Member)

School Review Committee

- 1. **Kevin Luckie** (New Jersey Department of Community Affairs designee, as permitted by Section 2.7 of the By-Laws)
- 2. Chief Executive Officer of the New Jersey Economic Development Authority (or designee as permitted by Section 2.7 of the By-Laws) designee, Juan Burgos
- 3. Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Education (or designee, as permitted by Section 2.7 of the By-Laws) designee, Bernard Piaia
- 4. Daniel Gumble (Public Member)
- 5. Michael Maloney (Public Member)
- 6. Mario Vargas (Public Member)
- 7. Nicole Vecchione (Public Member)

The Chairman then reminded the Board that the Audit Committee Charter requires that at least one member of the Audit Committee be designated by the Board to serve as the Committee's financial expert. He said that his recommendation for Audit Committee financial expert is David Moore, Treasury Designee. Mr. Nixon then requested a motion to approve the nomination. Upon a motion by Mr. Burgos and seconded by Mr. Luckie, the Board approved the nomination of David Moore to serve as the Audit Committee's financial expert upon its unanimous vote in favor of **Resolution 3bi.**

Mr. Nixon next stated that a proposed 2025 Board meeting schedule, to be operative until the Authority's next Annual Organizational meeting, was included in the meeting materials as **Exhibit E**. Mr. Nixon then requested a motion to approve 2025 Board Meeting Schedule. Upon a motion by Mr. Burgos and seconded by Mr. Piaia, the Members approved the Board meeting schedule for 2025 as presented with its unanimous vote in favor of **Resolution 3c**.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Board, upon motion by the Chairman and with unanimous consent, the Authority's 2025 Annual Organizational meeting was adjourned.

Certification: The foregoing represents a true and complete summary of the actions taken by the Board of the New Jersey Schools Development Authority at its 2025 Annual Organizational meeting held January 8, 2025.

/s/ Janice Venables Assistant Secretary